Managing opt-outs is just as important as sending great messages. This guide explains how to unsubscribe and re-subscribe contacts, so you can respect customer preferences, stay compliant, and keep your communication lists accurate and up to date.
Important: Compliance and consent are extremely important when managing contact subscription preferences. If you have any doubts, reach out to our customer support team by clicking the profile icon at the bottom left of your screen and selecting Chat with Support.
Only admins can unsubscribing and resubscribing a contact. If you need to unsubscribe or resubscribe a contact and you are not the admin, please reach out to the admin of your account who can do this by following the instructions below.
Unsubscribing contacts
Unsubscribing from the All contacts page
- Navigate to Contacts > All contacts.
-
Search for the contacts you wish to unsubscribe, then click on the more options icon (⋮) and select Unsubscribe:
- A confirmation modal will pop up where you can use the dropdown to select more contacts if required.
Unsubscribing from the Inbox
The admin of your account can also unsubscribe a user via the inbox.
- Navigate to Inbox and locate the contact you want to unsubscribe.
-
Open the conversation thread, then scroll to the Contact panel and click Edit.
-
Now scroll down to the Channels section and from here you can toggle between Subscribed and Unsubscribed - click Save when done:
Re-subscribing contacts
If contacts have been marked as unsubscribed, either automatically by the system when they have replied that they wish to opt-out OR manually by a user, only admins are able to resubscribe them.
Important: This action should only be taken if:
- The contact was mistakenly unsubscribed.
- The contact has explicitly requested to be re-subscribed.
Re-subscribing from the All Contacts page
- Navigate to Contacts > All Contacts.
- Search for the contacts you wish to re-subscribe, then click on the more options icon (⋮) and select Re-subscribe:
- A confirmation modal will pop up where you can use the dropdown to select more contacts if required.
To filter for all unsubscribed contacts, click on the All contacts field and click on Unsubscribed:
Re-subscribing from the Inbox
- Navigate to Inbox and locate the contact you want to re-subscribe.
-
Open the conversation thread, then scroll to the Contact panel and click Edit.
- Now scroll down to the Channels section and from here you can toggle between Subscribed and Unsubscribed - click Save when done: