In this article we explain what happens to dormant or inactive accounts as well as what happens after you cancel your account.
What is an inactive account?
The definition of an inactive account is different depending on the type of account you have:
- Trial account - trial accounts are active for 120 days, if you have not upgraded to a paid account, your trial account will be deemed inactive and the account will automatically be cancelled.
- Postpaid account - a postpaid account becomes inactive once it is cancelled. The cancellation may be initiated upon request from you (only admins can request cancellation), or the account may be cancelled by us due to non payment, misuse or fraudulent activity, such as breaching the acceptable use policy.
What happens to inactive accounts?
Once your account is cancelled this signals the end of the business relationship between you and SimpleTexting.
As it is crucial that we remove inactive accounts from our platform to avoid retaining customer data beyond the period of our business relationship, inactive accounts will be deleted.
The deletion will occur 365 days after the account status is updated to cancelled, the only exception to this is trial accounts which are deleted after 40 days of being cancelled.
During the period between the account being cancelled, and it being deleted, it is possible to reactivate the account by contacting support.
How and when do we communicate to you?
We will regularly communicate to the admin(s) of the account to inform you that your account is due to be deleted, providing you an opportunity to keep the account active.
- Trial accounts - we will send an email to the admin(s) 3 days after cancellation to inform you that the account will be deleted in 37 days time.
- Postpaid accounts - we will send an email to the admin(s) 3 days after cancellation to inform you that the account will be deleted in 362 days time.
Warning: Once an account is deleted, it is not recoverable.